Stacey Abrams in'All In: The Fight For Democracy"
Stacey Abrams in ‘All In: The Fight For Democracy” Courtesy of Amazon Studios

“Judas and the Black Messiah” was named the year’s Best Film of 2020 by the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA), the world’s largest group of Black film critics. Night of the Kings won the honor of Best Foreign Film and Best Documentary went to All In: The Fight For Democracy.

The 12th AAFCA Awards will be presented virtually on April 7, 2021

Winners of 12th AAFCA Awards

Best Picture: Judas and the Black Messiah (Warner Bros.)
Best Director: Regina King, One Night In Miami (Amazon Studios)
Best Actor: Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Netflix)
Best Actress: Andra Day, The United States vs. Billie Holiday (Hulu)
Best Supporting Actor: Daniel Kaluuya, Judas and the Black Messiah (Warner Bros.)
Best Supporting Actress: Dominique Fishback, Judas and the Black Messiah (Warner Bros.)
Best Screenplay: Kemp Powers, One Night in Miami (Amazon Studios)
Best Ensemble: One Night In Miami (Amazon Studios)
Best Foreign Film: Night of the Kings (Neon)
Best Documentary: All In: The Fight For Democracy (Amazon Studios)
Best Animation: Soul (Pixar/Disney)
Best Short Film: Two Distant Strangers
Breakout Performance: Radha Blank (Netflix)
Breakout Director: Shaka King (Warner Bros.)

Top 10 films of the year

  1. Judas And The Black Messiah
  2. One Night In Miami
  3. Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  4. Nomadland
  5. Night Of The Kings
  6. American Skin
  7. Da 5 Bloods
  8. Minari
  9. Miss Juneteenth
  10. The United States Vs. Billie Holiday

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.