No account yet? Register

Homebird directed by Ewa Smyk
Homebird directed by Ewa Smyk

The 2021 Indy Shorts International Film Festival, presented by Heartland Film (Indy Shorts) concluded its six-day run and announced the winners of the Audience Choice Awards with Ewa Smyk’s “Homebird” the big winner with both the Academy Award®-qualifying Grand Prize and Audience Choice Awards in the Animated category.

World Premiere documentary “Street Reporter” from Laura Waters Hinson won the Overall Audience Choice Award, Narrative went to “Heartland” by Jahmil Eady, and Documentary went to “Learning to Drown” by Ben Knight.

“Refreshing and rejuvenating! Indy Shorts was a breath of fresh air following the isolation of last year,” said Heartland Film President Craig Prater. “From lounging in gardens on picnic blankets to reclining in theaters with cocktails, our community and filmmakers were truly able to escape together into the world of short films.”

“Thank you to all the Indy Shorts filmmakers and moviegoers for your enthusiasm and support,” said Heartland Film Artistic Director Greg Sorvig. “With a record 201 films across 33 programs, I was exceptionally eager to see who the winners would be across our juried and audience choice award categories, and I’m impressed by the wide range of perspectives and stories honored. Special congratulations to Ewa Smyk and the National Film and Television School in the U.K., whose film “Homebird” won both the Oscar®-qualifying Grand Prize for Animated Short and Animated Audience Choice Awards. You can’t ask for a better start to a festival run! Thank you to all of our filmmakers, jury members, and attendees for crowning this year’s slate of awards!”

Heartland Film also hosts the Heartland International Film Festival which will be celebrating it’s 30th Anniversary October 7-17.

2021 Indy Shorts International Film Festival Audience Choice Award Winners

Overall Audience Choice Award Winner
“Street Reporter” by Laura Waters Hinson (U.S.), World Premiere

Narrative Audience Choice Award Winner
“Heartland” by Jahmil Eady (U.S.)

Documentary Audience Choice Award Winner
“Learning to Drown” by Ben Knight (U.S.)

Animation Audience Choice Award Winner
“Homebird” by Ewa Smyk (U.K.), World Premiere

Horror Audience Choice Award Winner
“TIO” by Juan J. Medina (Mexico), U.S. Premiere

Comedy Audience Choice Award Winner
“SWIPE” by Anthony Sneed (U.S.)

Indiana Spotlight Audience Choice Award Winner
“Cutters” by Matt Dillman (U.S.)

High School Film Competition Audience Choice Award Winner
“5 Years from Water” by Thao Nguyen (Blair Academy, Blairstown, NJ, U.S.)

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.