Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

We Are Still Here and Šaamšiǩ - Great Grandmothers Hat - imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival 2022 Festival Award Winners
We Are Still Here and Šaamšiǩ – Great Grandmothers Hat

We Are Still Here won the Dramatic Feature Award, and Šaamšiǩ – Great Grandmothers Hat took the Documentary Feature Award at the 2022 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival.

imagineNATIVE is the first and only Indigenous film Festival in the world to be a Qualifying Festival for the Best Live Action Short category for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in 2019. This means that Rose by Roxann Karonhiarokwas Whitebean, the 2022 winner for Best Live Action Short, will be eligible to submit for consideration in this category at the Oscars.

In addition to imagineNATIVE’s online Festival presentation, which will take place from October 24-30, 2022 and will allow users around the world to stream many films from the 2022 Festival’s official selection, the recipients of the Dramatic Feature Award, Documentary Feature Award, and Short Film awards will receive a repeat, in-person screening at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto.

The 2022 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Award Winners:

Innovation in Storytelling Award
The Original Shareholder Experience – Petyr Xyst

Animated Short Award
SEK BUY – William Cayapur Delgado

Documentary Short Award
First Time Home – Noemi Librado-Sanchez, Esmirna Librado, Esmeralda Ventura, Heriberto Ventura

Documentary Feature Award
Šaamšiǩ – Great Grandmothers Hat – Anstein Mikkelsen, Harry Johansen

Experimental Audio Award
Sabikeshiinh – Brydon King

Narrative Audio Award
Stolen: The Search for Jermain – Connie Walker

New Artist in Digital + Interactive Award
Mikiwam – Keara & Caeleigh Lightning

Digital + Interactive Award
This is Not a Ceremony – Colin Van Loon

Indigenous Language Production Award
Məca – Ritchie Norman Hemphill

New Voice in Storytelling Award
Proowa (Yucca) – Stefany Mendinueta

Live Action Short Award
Rose – Roxann Karonhiarokwas Whitebean

Dramatic Feature Award
We Are Still Here – Danielle MacLean, Beck Cole, Richard Curtis, Chantelle Burgoyne, Tracey Rigney, Dena Curtis, Tim Worrall, Renae Maihi, Miki Magasiva, Mario Gaoa

August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
Gary Farmer

Sun Jury Award
Night – Ahmad Saleh

Moon Jury Award
Kikino Kids – Barry Bilinsky

Harmonize Prize
Chandra Melting Tallow

Share ...

FILMS in this article

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.