Raging Grace directed by Paris Zarcilla
Raging Grace directed by Paris Zarcilla

Raging Grace directed by Paris Zarcilla is the winner of the Grand Jury Award in the Narrative Feature Competition at the 30th SXSW Film & TV Festival. The jury commented, “The story of a Filipina house cleaner and her young daughter confronting Britain’s racial and class divides, Raging Grace is both frank and elusive, a film that subverts expectations on its way to a stirring conclusion.”

Angel Applicant directed by Ken August Meyer
Angel Applicant directed by Ken August Meyer

The Grand Jury Award in the Documentary Feature Competition went to Angel Applicant directed by Ken August Meyer. “Written, directed, edited, and narrated by Kenneth August Meyer, Angel Applicant is a revelation. It is a film that lives dual lives: a gripping, autobiographical story about illness and an incisive work of art history.”

The Awards follow the 2022 Opening Night Film Everything Everywhere All At Once winning seven Oscar Awards on Sunday, including Best Picture.

“Our hearts are also bursting with joy for DANIELS who first brought their work to SXSW 11 years ago and won our Music Video Competition. It’s indescribable that we were also able to celebrate last year’s Opening Night Film Everything Everywhere All at Once and their seven Academy Awards. We know that another SXSW filmmaker in the Paramount Theater tonight will go on to fulfill their own creative dreams and achieve success beyond what they can imagine now!” said Claudette Godfrey, VP, Flm & TV.

The SXSW 2023 Film & TV Festival Awards:

Feature Film Grand Jury Awards

Winner: Raging Grace
Director/Screenwriter: Paris Zarcilla, Producer: Chi Thai

Special Jury Award for Performance: Courtney Eaton

Special Jury Award for Cinematography: Eric Branco, Story Ave

Winner: Angel Applicant
Director/Screenwriter: Ken August Meyer, Producers: Ken A. Meyer, Jason Roark

Special Jury Award for Innovation in Storytelling: Another Body
Directors: Sophie Compton, Reuben Hamlyn, Producers: Elizabeth Woodward, Sophie Compton, Reuben Hamlyn, Screenwriters: Sophie Compton, Reuben Hamlyn, Isabel Freeman


Winner: It Turns Blue
Director/Screenwriter: Shadi Karamroudi, Producers: Shadi Karamroudi, Mehran Noori, Mina Dreki, Theodora Valentis

Special Jury Award: Flores del Otro Patio
Director: Jorge Cadena, Screenwriters: Jorge Cadena, Li Aparicio Candama, Producers: Yan Decoppet, Gabriela Bussmann

Winner: Nǎi Nai & Wài Pó (Grandma & Grandma)
Director: Sean Wang, Producers: Sean Wang, Sam Davis

Special Jury Award: Suddenly TV
Director/Producer: Roopa Gogineni

Winner: The Flute
Director: Nick Roney, Screenwriters: Nick Roney, Ed Leer, Producers: Brendan Garrett, Ryland Burns

Special Jury Award: Pennies from Heaven
Director: Sandy Honig, Screenwriters: Sandy Honig, Annabel Meschke, Sabina Meschke, Producer: Jake Honig

Winner: The Debutante
Director/Screenwriter: Elizabeth Hobbs, Producer: Abigail Addison

Special Jury Award for Animation Directing: Tom CJ Brown, Christopher at Sea

Winner: Amanda Sum – ‘Different Than Before’
Director/Screenwriter: Mayumi Yoshida

Special Jury Award: Residente – ‘This is Not America ft. Ibeyi’
Director: Grégory Ohrel

Winner: Breaking Silence
Directors: Amy Bench, Annie Silverstein, Producers: Monique Walton, Amy Bench

Special Jury Award: When You Left Me On That Boulevard
Director/Screenwriter: Kayla Abuda Galang, Producers: Alifya Ali, Kayla Abuda Galang, David Oconer, Udoy Rahim, Samantha Skinner

Winner: Grown
Showrunner/Director/Screenwriter: Jocko Sims, Producers: Jocko Sims, Christopher Santiago, Chaz Hazlitt, Andrew Zolot

Special Jury Award for Outstanding Performance: Josh Fadem, Harbor Island

Winner: Eyestring
Designer: Javier Devitt

Special Jury Award: Riders on the Storm
Designer: Casey Moore
Directors: Jason Motlagh, Mark Oltmanns

Winner: Consensus Gentium
Director/Screenwriter: Karen Palmer, Producers: Tom Millen, Thalia Mavros, Jackson Lapsley Scott, Tuyet Huynh

Special Jury Award: Body of Mine
Director/Producer/Screenwriter: Cameron Kostopoulos

SXSW Special Awards

Janet Pierson Champion Award
Winner: Lizzie Shapiro
Lizzie Shapiro is a producer based in Brooklyn, NY. She most recently produced Story Ave and Parachute in the 2023 SXSW Film & TV Festival. Previous credits include then feature films Shiva Baby (SXSW, TIFF) and Mickey and the Bear (SXSW, Cannes) that both premiered to critical acclaim and were distributed by Utopia Films. She has also produced several short films that have premiered at film festivals worldwide. Lizzie has participated in the Film Independent Producer’s Lab and IFP Week: No Borders. She is a founding member of the film collective Thick Media.

Louis Black “Lone Star” Award
Winner: The Lady Bird Diaries
Director: Dawn Porter, Producers: Kim Reynolds, Dawn Porter

Special Jury Award: The Herricanes
Director: Olivia Kuan, Producers: James Lee Hernandez, Brian Lazarte, Lisa France, James Short, Olivia Kuan, Justin Baldoni, Andrew Calof

Thunderbird Rising Award

Thunderbird Rising Award Winner: Paris Zarcilla, Raging Grace

Thunderbird Rising Special Award: Brittany Snow, Parachute

The Hope Award

The Hope Award Winner: Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie
Director: Davis Guggenheim, Producers: Davis Guggenheim, Annetta Marion, Jonathan King, Will Cohen

The Hope Special Award: Confessions of a Good Samaritan
Director: Penny Lane, Producer: Gabriel Sedgwick

Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award

Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award
Presented to: Chronicles of a Wandering Saint
Director/Screenwriter: Tomas Gomez Bustillo, Producers: Gewan Brown, Amanda Freedman

ZEISS Cinematography Award

ZEISS Cinematography Award
Winner: Fancy Dance
Cinematographer: Carolina Costa, AMC

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.