Vicky Krieps
Vicky Krieps (credit: Chanel)

Award-winning actor Vicky Krieps will receive the TIFF Tribute Performer Award at the fifth annual Awards gala at the Toronto International Film Festival. Krieps is being recognized for her outstanding body of work and returns to the Festival this year for the World Premiere of Viggo Mortensen’s The Dead Don’t Hurt.

Krieps is best known for her breakthrough role in Paul Thomas Anderson’s Phantom Thread starring opposite Daniel Day-Lewis, and standout performances in past Festival selections, including Bergman Island, Corsage, and The Survivor.

In The Dead Don’t Hurt, Krieps plays Vivienne Le Coudy, a fiercely independent French-Canadian flower seller, starring alongside Mortensen, who plays a Danish carpenter, in his 1860s-set feminist western about immigrants attempting to forge a life in a corrupt Nevada town.

“Vicky’s transformative performances illuminate the screen, weaving emotions into a tapestry of storytelling,” said Cameron Bailey, CEO of TIFF. “Her dedication to her craft and her ability to embody diverse roles with profound authenticity make her a true luminary in the realm of cinema.”

The Luxembourgish, Berlin-based actor joins recently announced fellow Tribute Performer Award recipient Colman Domingo in this prestigious acting category. Past recipients of this Award include Brendan Fraser and the ensemble cast of My Policeman in 2022; Jessica Chastain and Benedict Cumberbatch in 2021; Kate Winslet and Sir Anthony Hopkins in 2020; and Meryl Streep and Joaquin Phoenix in 2019.

In addition to Krieps and Domingo, the 2023 TIFF Tribute Award honorees to date are: Andy Lau, recipient of the Special Tribute Award; Carolina Markowicz, recipient of the TIFF Emerging Talent Award presented by MGM Studios; Łukasz Żal, recipient of the TIFF Variety Artisan Award; Shawn Levy, recipient of the Norman Jewison Career Achievement Award presented by The Budman Family; Pedro Almodóvar, recipient of the Jeff Skoll Award in Impact Media presented by Participant; and Spike Lee, recipient of the TIFF Ebert Director Award.

The Tribute Awards gala is TIFF’s largest annual fundraiser, having raised $1.3 million in 2022, and is presented by Bulgari, sharing their commitment to arts and culture along with TIFF. This year, the Tribute Awards gala will support the Viola Desmond Cinema campaign, which was launched through the Every Story Fund in 2022.

Share ...

FILMS in this article

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.