Peter J. Owens Award recipient Judy Davis stars in THE EYE OF THE STORM, playing at the 55th San Francisco International Film Festival, April 19 – May 3, 2012.

Judy Davis, described as “one of cinema’s great performers,” will be the recipient of the 2012 Peter J. Owens Award at the 55th San Francisco International Film Festival (April 19 – May 3). The award will be presented to Davis at Film Society Awards Night, Thursday, April 26 at the historic Warfield Theatre.

Davis will also be honored at An Evening with Judy Davis at the Castro Theatre, Wednesday, April 25, 7:30 pm. An onstage interview and a selection of clips from her extraordinary career will be followed by a screening of Fred Schepisi’s The Eye of the Storm (Australia 2011). A wide-ranging portrait of a family in decline, this adaptation of Nobel Prize winner Patrick White’s 1973 novel features a triumvirate of tremendous performances in a story about a formerly wealthy matron and her two financially dependent grown children. With Judy Davis, Geoffrey Rush, Charlotte Rampling. Written by Judy Morris. Photographed by Ian Baker. 114 min.

Previous recipients of the Film Society’s Peter J. Owens Award are Terence Stamp (2011), Robert Duvall (2010), Robert Redford (2009), Maria Bello (2008), Robin Williams (2007), Ed Harris (2006), Joan Allen (2005), Chris Cooper (2004), Dustin Hoffman (2003), Kevin Spacey (2002), Stockard Channing (2001), Winona Ryder (2000), Sean Penn (1999), Nicolas Cage (1998), Annette Bening (1997) and Harvey Keitel (1996).

{jathumbnail off}

Share this article ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>