Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

Brazil, “Lula, the Son of Brazil,” Fabio Barreto, director

Sixty-five countries, including first-time entrants Ethiopia and Greenland, have submitted films for consideration in the Foreign Language Film category for the 83rd Academy Awards®.

The 2010 submissions are:

  • Albania, “East, West, East,” Gjergj Xhuvani, director;
  • Algeria, “Hors la Loi” (“Outside the Law”), Rachid Bouchareb, director;
  • Argentina, “Carancho,” Pablo Trapero, director;
  • Austria, “La Pivellina,” Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel, directors;
  • Azerbaijan, “The Precinct,” Ilgar Safat, director;
  • Bangladesh, “Third Person Singular Number,” Mostofa Sarwar Farooki, director;
  • Belgium, “Illegal,” Olivier Masset-Depasse, director;
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Circus Columbia,” Danis Tanovic, director;
  • Brazil, “Lula, the Son of Brazil,” Fabio Barreto, director;
  • Bulgaria, “Eastern Plays,” Kamen Kalev, director;
  • Canada, “Incendies,” Denis Villeneuve, director;
  • Chile, “The Life of Fish,” Matias Bize, director;
  • China, “Aftershock,” Feng Xiaogang, director;
  • Colombia, “Crab Trap,” Oscar Ruiz Navia, director;
  • Costa Rica, “Of Love and Other Demons,” Hilda Hidalgo, director;
  • Croatia, “The Blacks,” Goran Devic and Zvonimir Juric, directors;
  • Czech Republic, “Kawasaki’s Rose,” Jan Hrebejk, director;
  • Denmark, “In a Better World,” Susanne Bier, director;
  • Egypt, “Messages from the Sea,” Daoud Abdel Sayed, director;
  • Estonia, “The Temptation of St. Tony,” Veiko Ounpuu, director;
  • Ethiopia, “The Athlete,” Davey Frankel and Rasselas Lakew, directors;
  • Finland, “Steam of Life,” Joonas Berghall and Mika Hotakainen, directors;
  • France, “Of Gods and Men,” Xavier Beauvois, director;
  • Georgia, “Street Days,” Levan Koguashvili, director;
  • Germany, “When We Leave,” Feo Aladag, director;
  • Greece, “Dogtooth,” Yorgos Lanthimos, director;
  • Greenland, “Nuummioq,” Otto Rosing and Torben Bech, directors;
  • Hong Kong, “Echoes of the Rainbow,” Alex Law, director;
  • Hungary, “Bibliotheque Pascal,” Szabolcs Hajdu, director;
  • Iceland, “Mamma Gogo,” Fridrik Thor Fridriksson, director;
  • India, “Peepli [Live],” Anusha Rizvi, director;
  • Indonesia, “How Funny (Our Country Is),” Deddy Mizwar, director;
  • Iran, “Farewell Baghdad,” Mehdi Naderi, director;
  • Iraq, “Son of Babylon,” Mohamed Al-Daradji, director;
  • Israel, “The Human Resources Manager,” Eran Riklis, director;
  • Italy, “La Prima Cosa Bella” (“The First Beautiful Thing”), Paolo Virzi, director;
  • Japan, “Confessions,” Tetsuya Nakashima, director;
  • Kazakhstan, “Strayed,” Akan Satayev, director;
  • Korea, “A Barefoot Dream,” Tae-kyun Kim, director;
  • Kyrgyzstan, “The Light Thief,” Aktan Arym Kubat, director;
  • Latvia, “Hong Kong Confidential,” Maris Martinsons, director;
  • Macedonia, “Mothers,” Milcho Manchevski, director;
  • Mexico, “Biutiful,” Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, director;
  • Netherlands, “Tirza,” Rudolf van den Berg, director;
  • Nicaragua, “La Yuma,” Florence Jaugey, director;
  • Norway, “The Angel,” Margreth Olin, director;
  • Peru, “Undertow” (“Contracorriente”), Javier Fuentes-Leon, director;
  • Philippines, “Noy,” Dondon S. Santos and Rodel Nacianceno, directors;
  • Poland, “All That I Love,” Jacek Borcuch, director;
  • Portugal, “To Die Like a Man,” Joao Pedro Rodrigues, director;
  • Puerto Rico, “Miente” (“Lie”), Rafael Mercado, director;
  • Romania, “If I Want to Whistle, I Whistle,” Florin Serban, director;
  • Russia, “The Edge,” Alexey Uchitel, director;
  • Serbia, “Besa,” Srdjan Karanovic, director;
  • Slovakia, “Hranica” (“The Border”), Jaroslav Vojtek, director;
  • Slovenia, “9:06,” Igor Sterk, director;
  • South Africa, “Life, above All,” Oliver Schmitz, director;
  • Spain, “Tambien la Lluvia” (“Even the Rain”), Iciar Bollain, director;
  • Sweden, “Simple Simon,” Andreas Ohman, director;
  • Switzerland, “La Petite Chambre,” Stephanie Chuat and Veronique Reymond, directors;
  • Taiwan, “Monga,” Chen-zer Niu, director;
  • Thailand, “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives,” Apichatpong Weerasethakul, director;
  • Turkey, “Bal” (“Honey”), Semih Kaplanoglu, director;
  • Uruguay, “La Vida Util,” Federico Veiroj, director;
  • Venezuela, “Hermano,” Marcel Rasquin, director.

The 83rd Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Tuesday, January 25, 2011, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2010 will be presented on Sunday, February 27, 2011, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network. The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 200 countries worldwide.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.