Winner, Best actress – Natalie Portman, Black Swan

The Houston Film Critics Society on Saturday named The Social Network the best film of 2010; and also named the film’s David Fincher best director, the film’s Aaron Sorkin best screenwriter and Jesse Eisenberg best actor.

The 2010 nominees and winners:

Best picture: The Social Network

127 Hours, Black Swan, Inception, Kick Ass, The Kids are All Right, The King’s Speech,  Toy Story 3, True Grit, Winter’s Bone

Best director: David Fincher, The Social Network

Nominees: Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan; Danny Boyle, 127 Hours; Joel & Ethan Coen, True Grit;  Christopher Nolan, Inception

Best actor: Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

Nominees: Jeff Bridges, True Grit; Robert Duvall, Get Low; Colin Firth, The King’s Speech; James Franco, 127 Hours

Best actress: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Nominees: Annette Bening, The Kids are All Right; Nicole Kidman, Rabbit Hole; Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone; Noomi Rapace, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Best supporting actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter;

Nominees: Andrew Garfield, The Social Network; Bill Murray, Get Low; Jeremy Renner, The Town; Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech

Best supporting actress: Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit

Nominees: Helena Bonham Carter, The King’s Speech; Melissa Leo, The Fighter; Julianne Moore, The Kids are All Right; Jackie Weaver, Animal Kingdom

Best screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Nominees: Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg, The Kids are All Right; Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini, Winter’s Bone; J. Lasseter, A. Stanton, L. Unkrich and M. Arndt, Toy Story 3; Christopher Nolan, Inception

Best animated film: Toy Story 3

Nominees: Despicable Me, How to Train Your Dragon, Megamind, Tangled

Best cinematography: Wally Pfister, Inception

Nominees: Roger Deakins, True Grit; Matthew Libatique, Black Swan; Anthony Dod Mantle and Enrique Chediak, 127 Hours; Eduardo Serra, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part One

Best documentary: Restrepo

Nominees: Client 9: The Rise and Fall of Eliot Spitzer, Marwencol, The Pat Tillman Story, Waiting for Superman

Best foreign language film: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,

Nominees: Biutiful, Carlos, Mother, The Secret in their Eyes

Best original score: Hans Zimmer, Inception

Carter Burwell, True Grit; John Powell, How to Train your Dragon; A.R. Rahman, 127 Hours; Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, The Social Network

Best original song: We are Sex Bob-Omb! from Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, music & lyrics by Beck;

Nominees: If I Rise, from 127 Hours, music by A.R. Rahman, D. Armstrong & R. Armstrong; Shine, from Waiting for Superman, music & lyrics by John Legend; The Clap, from Get Him to the Greek, music & lyrics by Dan Bern & Mike Viola;  You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me, from Burlesque, music & lyrics by D. Warren

Worst picture: Jonah Hex

Humanitarian of the year: George Clooney

Lifetime achievement prize: Sissy Spacek

Cinematic achievement award: Hector Luna, founder and editor of C-47 Houston magazine, and Charles Dove, director of the Rice U. Media Center

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.