The 8th annual San Francisco Ocean Film Festival announced the six award recipients chosen from its lineup of more than 50 films.  Awards include two new categories this year, for best short film as well as best conservation film.

The 2011 San Francisco Ocean Film Festival winners are:

  • Wildlife Film: Sex under the Sea (Belgium), Etienne Verhaegen
  • Adventure Film: Rescue Men: The Story of the Pea Island Surfmen (USA), Allan Smith
  • Coastal Culture Film: Papa Mau (USA), Na’alehu Anthony
  • Environmental Film: Sanctuary in the Sea (USA), Robert Talbot
  • Conservation Film: In the Wake of Giants (USA), Lou Douros
  • Short Film: The Krill is Gone (USA), Jeffrey Bost & Matt Briggs

“The 8th Annual San Francisco Ocean Film Festival was well attended by thousands of ocean lovers – including young students and children – and more than 30 filmmakers from around the world,” said Ana Blanco, festival director.  “Film is an excellent medium for conveying a story or message, and each of the 53 films did just that. Everyone came away with a better understanding of how precious and fragile the world’s ocean is, and what they can do to become better stewards in protecting it.”

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.