Elizabeth Olsen as Martha in Martha Marcy May Marlene won the Pauline Kael Breakout Award.

The film “The Descendants” was crowned the big winner of 2011 by the Florida Film Critics Circle’s (FFCC) , taking the wins for Best Picture, Supporting Actress (Shailene Woodley) and Adapted Screenplay (Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash).

Michael Hazanavicius won Best Original Screenplay for his critically acclaimed silent film “The Artist,” which finished a close second behind “The Descendants” for Best Picture.

In other awards, Michael Fassbender won Best Actor for his portrayal of a sex addict in “Shame,” Michelle Williams won Best Actress for her turn as Marilyn Monroe in “My Week with Marilyn,” and Albert Brooks won Best Supporting Actor for his performance as a Mafioso in “Drive.”

“The Skin I Live In” won for Best Foreign Language Film, and “Project Nim” won for Best Documentary.

“Martha Marcy May Marlene” star Elizabeth Olsen won the Pauline Kael Breakout Award.

Founded in 1996, the Florida Film Critics Circle is comprised of 20 writers from state publications.

Complete list of winners:
Picture: The Descendants
Actor: Michael Fassbender, Shame
Actress: Michelle Williams, My Week with Marilyn
Supp. Actor: Albert Brooks, Drive
Supp. Actress: Shailene Woodley, The Descendants
Director: Martin Scorsese, Hugo
Adapted Screenplay: Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash, The Descendants
Original Screenplay: Michael Hazanavicius, The Artist
Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, The Tree of Life
Visual Effects: Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Art Direction/Production Design: Dante Ferretti, Hugo
Foreign Language: The Skin I Live In
Animated: The Adventures of Tintin
Documentary: Project Nim
Breakout: Elizabeth Olsen, Martha Marcy May Marlene
Golden Orange: No Award

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.