Bookmark (0)

No account yet? Register

Ninety-seven scores from eligible feature-length motion pictures are in contention for nominations in the Original Score category for the 84th Academy Awards®.

The eligible scores along with the composer are listed below in alphabetical order by film title:

  • “The Adjustment Bureau,” Thomas Newman, composer
  • “The Adventures of Tintin,” John Williams, composer
  • “African Cats,” Nicholas Hooper, composer
  • “Albert Nobbs,” Brian Byrne, composer
  • “Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked,” Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
  • “Anonymous,” Thomas Wander and Harald Kloser, composers
  • “Another Earth,” Phil Mossman and Will Bates, composers
  • “Answers to Nothing,” Craig Richey, composer
  • “Arthur Christmas,” Harry Gregson-Williams, composer
  • “The Artist,” Ludovic Bource, composer
  • “@urFRENZ,” Lisbeth Scott, composer
  • “Atlas Shrugged Part 1,” Elia Cmiral, composer
  • “Battle: Los Angeles,” Brian Tyler, composer
  • “Beastly,” Marcelo Zarvos, composer
  • “The Big Year,” Theodore Shapiro, composer
  • “Captain America: The First Avenger,” Alan Silvestri, composer
  • “Cars 2,” Michael Giacchino, composer
  • “Cedar Rapids,” Christophe Beck, composer
  • “Conan the Barbarian,” Tyler Bates, composer
  • “The Conspirator,” Mark Isham, composer
  • “Contagion,” Cliff Martinez, composer
  • “Coriolanus,” Ilan Eshkeri, composer
  • “DAM999,” Ousepachan, composer
  • “The Darkest Hour,” Tyler Bates, composer
  • “The Debt,” Thomas Newman, composer
  • “Dolphin Tale,” Mark Isham, composer
  • “Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark,” Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
  • “Dream House,” John Debney, composer
  • “The Eagle,” Atli Orvarsson, composer
  • “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
  • “Fast Five,” Brian Tyler, composer
  • “The First Grader,” Alex Heffes, composer
  • “The Flowers of War,” Qigang Chen, composer
  • “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo,” Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, composers
  • “The Greatest Miracle,” Mark McKenzie, composer
  • “Green Lantern,” James Newton Howard, composer
  • “Hanna,” Tom Rowlands, composer
  • “Happy Feet Two,” John Powell, composer
  • “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
  • “The Help,” Thomas Newman, composer
  • “Hop,” Christopher Lennertz, composer
  • “Hugo,” Howard Shore, composer
  • “I Don’t Know How She Does It,” Aaron Zigman, composer
  • “The Ides of March,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
  • “Immortals,” Trevor Morris, composer
  • “In Search of God,” Rupam Sarmah, composer
  • “In the Land of Blood and Honey,” Gabriel Yared, composer
  • “In Time,” Craig Armstrong, composer
  • “Insidious,” Joseph Bishara, composer
  • “The Iron Lady,” Thomas Newman, composer
  • “J. Edgar,” Clint Eastwood, composer
  • “Jane Eyre,” Dario Marianelli, composer
  • “The Lady,” Eric Serra, composer
  • “Like Crazy,” Dustin O’Halloran, composer
  • “Margaret,” Nico Muhly, composer
  • “Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol,” Michael Giacchino, composer
  • “Mr. Popper’s Penguins,” Rolfe Kent, composer
  • “Moneyball,” Mychael Danna, composer
  • “Monte Carlo,” Michael Giacchino, composer
  • “New Year’s Eve,” John Debney, composer
  • “Norman,” Andrew Bird, composer
  • “One Day,” Rachel Portman, composer
  • “Puss in Boots,” Henry Jackman, composer
  • “Rampart,” Dickon Hinchliffe, composer
  • “Real Steel,” Danny Elfman, composer
  • “Rebirth,” Philip Glass, composer
  • “Red Riding Hood,” Alex Heffes and Brian Reitzell, composers
  • “Restless,” Danny Elfman, composer
  • “Rio,” John Powell, composer
  • “Rise of the Planet of the Apes,” Patrick Doyle, composer
  • “The Rite,” Alex Heffes, composer
  • “The Rum Diary,” Christopher Young, composer
  • “Sanctum,” David Hirschfelder, composer
  • “Sarah’s Key,” Max Richter, composer
  • “Senna,” Antonio Pinto, composer
  • “Shame,” Harry Escott, composer
  • “The Skin I Live In,” Alberto Iglesias, composer
  • “The Smurfs,” Heitor Pereira, composer
  • “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan,” Rachel Portman, composer
  • “Super 8,” Michael Giacchino, composer
  • “Take Shelter,” David Wingo, composer
  • “The Thing,” Marco Beltrami, composer
  • “Thor,” Patrick Doyle, composer
  • “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy,” Alberto Iglesias, composer
  • “Tower Heist,” Christophe Beck, composer
  • “W.E.,” Abel Korzeniowski, composer
  • “War Horse,” John Williams, composer
  • “Warrior,” Mark Isham, composer
  • “Water for Elephants,” James Newton Howard, composer
  • “The Way,” Tyler Bates, composer
  • “We Bought a Zoo,” Jon Thor Birgisson, composer
  • “We Need to Talk about Kevin,” Jonny Greenwood, composer
  • “Win Win,” Lyle Workman, composer
  • “Winnie the Pooh,” Henry Jackman, composer
  • “X-Men: First Class,” Henry Jackman, composer
  • “Young Adult,” Rolfe Kent, composer
  • “Your Highness,” Steve Jablonsky, composer

A Reminder List of works submitted in the Original Score category shall be sent with a nominations ballot to all members of the Music Branch who shall vote in the order of their preference for not more than five achievements. The five achievements receiving the highest number of votes will become the nominations for final voting for the award.

To be eligible, the original score must be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring, and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer. Scores diluted by the use of tracked themes or other preexisting music, diminished in impact by the predominant use of songs, or assembled from the music of more than one composer shall not be eligible.

The 84th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Tuesday, January 24, 2012, and the Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2011 will be presented on Sunday, February 26, 2012.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.