The 17th New York Int’l Children’s Film Festival announced the jury and a slate preview for the upcoming festival, which runs March 7 to 30, 2014, at New York’s DGA Theater, IFC Center, Scholastic Theater, SVA Theatre, and Village East Cinema. Films on the lineup include the US Premiere of AMAZONIA (France), BOY AND THE WORLD (Brazil), and the Theatrical Premiere of the English Version of ERNEST & CELESTINE (France); and Special Preview Screening of MUPPETS MOST WANTED and RIO 2.  The 2014 jury includes actors Geena Davis, Matthew Modine, Susan Sarandon, Uma Thurman, and Jeffrey Wright and filmmakers and animators John Canemaker, Bill Plympton, Henry Selick, Gus Van Sant and Taika Waititi. As an Oscar®-qualifying festival, NYICFF jury winners qualify for consideration for the 2015 Academy Awards® in the Live Action and Animated Short Film categories.


Amazonia, Opening Night Film – US Premiere, France, Live Action, Thierry Ragobert
Aunt Hilda – North American Premiere, France, Animation Jacques-Rémy Girerd.
Boy and the World – US Premiere, Brazil, Animation, Alê Abreu.
Ernest & Celestine (English Version) – Theatrical Premiere, France, Animation, Renner/Patar/Aubier.
Foosball 3D – New York Premiere, Argentina, Animation, Juan José Campanella.
Muppets Most Wanted – Special Preview Screening, USA, Live Action, James Bobin.
Rio 2 – Special Preview Screening, USA, Animation, Carlos Saldanha.


John Canemaker – Academy Award®-winning animator (The Moon and the Son)
Geena Davis – Academy Award®-winning actor and Founder, Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media
Lynne McVeigh – Associate Professor of Children’s Media at NYU Tisch School of the Arts
Matthew Modine – Award-winning actor (Full Metal Jacket, The Dark Knight Rises)
Richard Peña – Director Emeritus New York Film Festival, Columbia University Professor of Film Studies
Bill Plympton – Academy Award®-nominated filmmaker (Guard Dog, Idiots and Angels)
Dana Points – Editor-in-Chief of Parents magazine
Susan Sarandon – Academy Award®-winning actor (Dead Man Walking, Arbitrage)
James Schamus – Award-winning filmmaker (Brokeback Mountain, The Ice Storm)
Henry Selick– Academy Award®-nominated director (Coraline)
Evan Shapiro – President, Participant Television
Uma Thurman – Academy Award®-nominated actor (Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill Vol. 1 & 2)
Christine Vachon – Award-winning filmmaker (Boys Don’t Cry, Mildred Pierce)
Gus Van Sant – Award-winning director (Good Will Hunting, Milk)
Taika Waititi – Academy Award®-nominated writer/director (Two Cars One Night, Boy)
Jeffrey Wright – Award-winning actor (Basquiat, The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.