NEWARK BLACK FILM FESTIVAL YOUTH CINEMA SCHEDULE
Youth Cinema will be held on Mondays at The Newark Public Library at 10:30 am and at the Newark Museum on Wednesdays at 1 pm.

Monday, July 3, The Newark Public Library
Wednesday July 5, Newark Museum
Tell Me Who I Am – A princess from Timbuktu and her magical friend take a journey in a time-travel ship into the 21st century.
George Washington Carver – Learn how Mr. Carver became one of the world’s foremost experts in agriculture and horticulture.
Adventures in Odyssey: Race to Freedom – With the help of friends, a young boy helps slaves escape through the Underground Railroad.

Monday, July 10, The Newark Public Library
Wednesday, July 12, Newark Museum
The Proud Family Movie – A young girl and her family go on vacation, only to be captured by a mad scientist.

Monday, July 17, The Newark Public Library
Wednesday, July 19, Newark Museum
Meltrek: Exploring Ancient Africa – Learn history, culture and contributions of various African civilizations.
Zarafa – In this African fable, a boy and a baby giraffe take a hot air balloon on an adventure from Africa to Europe.

Monday, July 24, The Newark Public Library
Wednesday, July 26, Newark Museum
Thugaboo: Sneaker Madness – Adventures of neighborhood kids of different racial cultures.
Sule and the Case of the Tiny Sparks – A young girl who wants to learn the meaning of a proverb seeks guidance from the proverb detective.
The Honest-to-Goodness Truth – Libby tries not to lie–she’s been taught that it’s good to be honest– sometimes the truth can be hard.

Monday, July 31, The Newark Public Library
Wednesday, August 2, Newark Museum
Mrs. Katz and Tush – Lamel, a young African-American boy, and Mrs. Katz, an elderly Jewish woman, develop an unusual friendship through their concern for a cat named Tush.
You’re Beautiful – 11-year-old Shola truly knows the internal conflict she faces and the pressures of dealing with school.
White Water – A boy in the Deep South discovers that no matter the fountain, water is water.

Monday, August 7, The Newark Public Library
Wednesday, August 9, Newark Museum
Queen of Katwe – Living in the slum of Kampala, Uganda, is a constant struggle for 10-year-old Phiona and her family. Her world changes when she meets a missionary who teaches children how to play chess.

Share this article ...