Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains
Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains

Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains won Best Picture, Cinematography and Debut Feature at this year’s International Cinephile Society Awards given annually by the International Cinephile Society, an online organization of professional film critics and journalists worldwide.

Kelly Reichardt received top honors for Best Director, and also won Adapted Screenplay with co-writer Jonathan Raymond, based on his book for First Cow.

The Brazilian film Bacurau won three ICS awards including Best Ensemble; and the Year of the Discovery by Luis López Carrasco won Best Documentary.

Aditya Modak won the Best Actor award for The Disciple; and Best Actress went to Lingua Franca‘s Isabel Sandoval.

Winners and nominees of 18th International Cinephile Society Awards

01. Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains
02. First Cow
03. Days
04. Nomadland
05. Lingua Franca
06. Lovers Rock
07. La virgen de agosto
08. A Portuguesa
09. Bacurau
10. If It Were Love
11. Never Rarely Sometimes Always
12. I’m Thinking of Ending Things
13. The Year of the Discovery
14. The Wasteland
15. Fauna
16. Identifying Features
17. The Works and Days (of Tayoko Shiojiri in the Shiotani Basin)
18. Malmkrog
19. The Disciple
20. Residue
21. À l’abordage
22. DAU. Degeneration
23. Madre
24. Undine
25. Love Affair(s)

Winner: Kelly Reichardt – First Cow
RU: Isabel Sandoval – Lingua Franca
RU: Chloé Zhao – Nomadland
• Rita Azevedo Gomes – A Portuguesa
• Gu Xiaogang – Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains
• Tsai Ming-liang – Days

Winner: Aditya Modak – The Disciple
RU: Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal
• Bartosz Bielenia – Corpus Christi
• Alfredo Castro – My Tender Matador
• Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods
• James Norton – Nowhere Special

Winner: Isabel Sandoval – Lingua Franca
RU: Marta Nieto – Madre
• Sidney Flanigan – Never Rarely Sometimes Always
• Frances McDormand – Nomadland
• Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman
• Barbara Sukowa – Two of Us

Winner: Francisco Barreiro – Fauna
RU: Paul Raci – Sound of Metal
• Anong Houngheuangsy – Days
• Orion Lee – First Cow
• Édouard Sulpice – À l’abordage
• André Wilms – The Salt of Tears

Winner: Sônia Braga – Bacurau
RU: Youn Yuh-jung – Minari
• Candice Bergen – Let Them All Talk
• Lynn Cohen – Lingua Franca
• Vasilisa Perelygina – Beanpole
• Talia Ryder – Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Winner: Bacurau
RU: Malmkrog
• À l’abordage
• Da 5 Bloods
• Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains
• Lovers Rock

Winner: Bacurau – Kleber Mendonça Filho, Juliano Dornelles
RU: Lingua Franca – Isabel Sandoval
• À l’abordage – Guillaume Brac, Catherine Paillé
• Fauna – Nicolás Pereda
• La virgen de agosto – Itsaso Arana, Jonás Trueba
• Never Rarely Sometimes Always – Eliza Hittman

Winner: First Cow – Jonathan Raymond, Kelly Reichardt
RU: Malmkrog – Cristi Puiu
• Atarrabi & Mikelats – Eugène Green
• I’m Thinking of Ending Things – Charlie Kaufman
• Moffie – Oliver Hermanus, Jack Sidey
• A Portuguesa – Rita Azevedo Gomes

Winner: Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains – Deng Xu, Yu Ninghui
RU: The Wild Goose Lake – Dong Jingsong
• First Cow – Christopher Blauvelt
• Lovers Rock – Shabier Kirchner
• Notturno – Gianfranco Rosi
• A Portuguesa – Acácio de Almeida

Winner: The Wasteland – Sara Yavari
RU: Residue – Merawi Gerima
• Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains – Liu Xinzhu
• First Cow – Kelly Reichardt
• Los conductos – Camilo Restrepo
• Lovers Rock – Chris Dickens, Steve McQueen

Winner: A Portuguesa – Nuno Franco
RU: First Cow – Anthony Gasparro, Lisa Ward, Vanessa Knoll
• Beanpole – Sergey Ivanov
• DAU. Degeneration – Denis Shibanov
• Malmkrog – Dinica Tiberiu
• The Twentieth Century – Dany Boivin

Winner: Preparations to Be Together for an Unknown Period of Time – Gábor Keresztes
RU: First Cow – William Tyler
• The Disciple – Naren Chandavarkar, Aneesh Pradhan
• Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains – Dou Wei
• Mank – Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross
• Soul – Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross

Winner: Sound of Metal – Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Michelle Couttolenc
RU: Lovers Rock – Ronald Bailey, Paul Cotterell, James Harrison
• The Disciple – Anirban Borthakur, Naren Chandavarkar, Anita Kushwaha
• Residue – Alex J. Bledsoe, Isiah Clarke
• Tenet – Willie D. Burton, Richard King, Kevin O’Connell, Gary A. Rizzo
• The Vast of Night – Erik Duemig, Johnny Marshall, David Rosenblad

Winner: Josep – Aurel
RU: The Wolf House – Joaquín Cociña, Cristóbal León
• Calamity, a Childhood of Martha Jane Cannary – Rémi Chayé
• Circumstantial Pleasures – Lewis Klahr
• Soul – Pete Docter, Kemp Powers
• Wolfwalkers – Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart

Winner: The Year of the Discovery – Luis López Carrasco
RU: The Metamorphosis of Birds – Catarina Vasconcelos
• City Hall – Frederick Wiseman
• Collective – Alexander Nanau
• My Mexican Bretzel – Nuria Giménez
• Time – Garrett Bradley

Winner: Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains – Gu Xiaogang
RU: Identifying Features – Fernanda Valadez
• Residue – Merawi Gerima
• Sole – Carlo Sironi
• Swallow – Carlo Mirabella-Davis
• The Vast of Night – Andrew Patterson

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.