2022 Sun Valley Film Festival Award Honorees - Woody Harrelson and Amy Poehler
2022 Sun Valley Film Festival Award Honorees – Woody Harrelson and Amy Poehler

Sun Valley Film Festival, returning as an in-person event from March 30-April 3, 2022, announced this year’s award honors and initial film lineup for the 11th annual event. This year’s award honorees include Woody Harrelson and Amy Poehler, who will receive Vision Awards, and Dr. Nathalie Dougé, who is the recipient of National Geographic’s Further Award. The festival will screen more than 25 narrative and documentary features.

“After two challenging years, we’re excited to bring the Sun Valley Film Festival back as a live event, honoring the very best in film; those who are innovators and visionaries in our industry,” said Sun Valley Film Festival founder Teddy Grennan. “We can’t wait to showcase this diverse and impactful slate of films to this year’s guests, patrons, our valley and we’re honored to welcome Amy Poehler and Woody Harrelson.”


Previously honoring some of Hollywood’s brightest luminaries, this year’s SVFF Vision Awards, which pays tribute to industry icons whose contributions to the art of cinema have changed the industry for the better, will be presented to Woody Harrelson and Amy Poehler on Saturday, April 2 at the Vision Award dinner held on Bald Mountain. Both will participate in Coffee Talks to discuss their career achievements.

Dr. Nathalie Dougé, a physician and the subject of the documentary The First Wave, directed by Matthew Heineman, will receive the National Geographic Further Award. The Further Award recognizes a leader whose work is uniquely innovative, timely, and impactful—someone who has boldly pushed the boundaries of his or her field, and who serves as an outstanding ambassador for that breakthrough work. Dr. Dougé served as a physician in New York during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic. Her role in the film helped articulate and demonstrate the intense circumstances hospital systems and medical workers on the frontlines were faced with at the onset of the global pandemic, creating conversation and greater understanding among audiences around the world. Since the release of The First Wave, Dr. Dougé has become a board member of the Lorna Breen Heroes Foundation where she’s become a fierce advocate for mental healthcare and to eliminate workplace stigma and discrimination for physicians seeking help. The Sun Valley Film Festival is proud to offer a special free screening of the film for local healthcare workers during the festival.


Sun Valley Film Festival today also announced the first wave of film and event programming, with more exciting news to come in the coming weeks. Select films to be screened at the 11th annual Sun Valley Film Festival are as follows:


892 – Director: Abi Damaris Corbin. Cast: John Boyega, Michael K. Williams, Nicole Beharie, Connie Britton, Olivia Washington, Selenis Leyva.

Clara Sola – Director: Nathalie Álvarez Mesén. Cast: Daniel Castañeda Rincón.

Dos Estaciones – Director: Juan Pablo Gonzáles. Cast: Teresa Sánchez, Manuel Garcia Rulfo.

Every Day in Kaimukī – Director: Alika Tengan. Cast: Naz Kawakami, Rina White, Holden Mandrial-Santos.

Fire – Director: Claire Denis. Cast: Juliette Binoche, Vincent Lindon.

Hands That Bind – Director: Kyle Armstrong. Cast: Bruce Dern, Paul Sparks.

Hatching – Director: Hanna Bergholm. Cast: Siiri Solalinna, Sophia Heikkilä, Jani Volanen.

Holy Emy – Director: Araceli Lemos. Cast: Abigael Loma, Hasmine Killip, Eirini Inglesi.

Karmalink – Director: Jake Wachtel. Cast: Srey Leak Chhith, Leng Heng Prak, Sahajak Boonthanakit, Cindy Sirinya Bishop.

Linoleum – Director: Colin West. Cast: Jim Gaffigan, Rhea Seehorn, Katelyn Nacon, Gabriel Rush, Amy Hargreaves, West Duchovny, Michael Ian Black, Tony Shalhoub, Elisabeth Henry, Roger Hendricks Simon.

A Love Song – Director: Max Walker-Silverman. Cast: Dale Dickey, Wes Studi.

Montana Story – Directors: Scott McGehee and David Siegel. Cast: Haley Lu Richardson, Owen Teague.

The Mountains Are a Dream That Call to Me – Director: Cedric Cheung-Lau. Cast: Sanjay Lama Dong, Alice Cummins.

Watcher – Director: Chloe Okuno. Cast: Maika Monroe, Karl Glusman.


Calendar Girls – Directors: Maria Loohufvud and Love Martinsen

Explorer: The Last Tepui – Directors: Taylor Rees, Renan Ozturk

Exposure – Director: Holly Morris

Mama Bears – Director: Daresha Kyi

Mickey: The Story Of A Mouse – Director: Jeff Malmberg

Mija – Director: Isabel Castro

Sirens – Director: Rita Baghdadi

Street Heroines – Director: Alexandra Henry

Really Good Rejects – Director: Alice Gu

The Territory – Director: Alex Pritz

We Feed People – Director: Ron Howard

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.