Brendan Fraser
Brendan Fraser ( credit: Chad Griffith /A24 Films)

Brendan Fraser, star of The Whale, will be honored with the American Riviera Award at the 38th Santa Barbara International Film Festival at an in-person conversation about his career.

In addition to starring in Darren Aronofsky’s The Whale, other film projects on the horizon include Brothers with Glenn Close, Josh Brolin and Peter Dinklage, as well as Martin Scorsese’s new epic western, Killers of the Flower Moon.

From Darren Aronofsky comes The Whale, the story of a reclusive English teacher living with severe obesity who attempts to reconnect with his estranged teenage daughter for one last chance at redemption. Starring Brendan Fraser and based on the acclaimed play by Samuel D. Hunter.

The American Riviera Award was established to recognize actors who have made a significant contribution to American Cinema. Previous recipients include Kristen Stewart, Delroy Lindo, Renée Zellweger, Viggo Mortenson, Sam Rockwell, Jeff Bridges, Michael Keaton, Rachel McAdams, Mark Ruffalo, Patricia Arquette, Ethan Hawke, Robert Redford, Quentin Tarantino, Martin Scorsese, Annette Bening, Sandra Bullock, Mickey Rourke, Tommy Lee Jones, Forrest Whitaker, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Kevin Bacon and Diane Lane.

The 38th Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place LIVE February 8 – February 18, 2023.

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.