Women Talking
(l-r.) Michelle McLeod stars as Mejal, Sheila McCarthy as Greta,Liv McNeil as Neitje, Jessie Buckley as Mariche, Claire Foy as Salome, Kate Hallett as Autje, Rooney Mara as Ona and Judith Ivey as Agata in director Sarah Polley’s film, Women Talking. An Orion Pictures Release [credit: Michael Gibson © 2022 Orion Releasing ]

Sarah Polley’s Women Talking took home the coveted Best Feature Film prize at the 2022 Twin Cities Film Fest. A big-screen adaptation of the Miriam Toews novel, about a group of eight women in an isolated religious community struggling to reconcile with their faith after a series of sexual assaults, Women Talking stars Rooney Mara, Claire Foy, Jessie Buckley, Judith Ivey, Ben Whishaw, and Frances McDormand in critically acclaimed roles. McDormand also served as producer on the film.

The festival’s top non-fiction award went to Trevor Frost and Melissa Lesh’s Wildcat, the inspiring true story of a young British soldier struggling with depression and PTSD who finds a second chance in the Amazon rainforest fostering an orphaned baby ocelot alongside an American scientist.

The 2022 Audience Award winners went to Sins Of The Father, directed by Vanessa M. H. Powers (Narrative), A Letter to Bryson, directed by Adrian Wilson (Documentary) and The Mosquito, directed by Ross Michael Johnson & Jackie Deschamps (Short).

In other awards, actress Esmeralda Camargo received this year’s Indie Vision — Breakthrough Performance prize for her harrowing performance in Marisol, playing a first-generation Mexican-American high school student whose college dreams are shattered when she is falsely accused of a crime. Filmmakers Steven Hauge, J.D. O’Brien and Brett Schnacky were awarded the 2022 Indie Vision — Breakthrough Achievement award for their post-production efforts on After the Gunflint, an intergenerational drama about a family emergency that interrupts a fishing trip deep in the woods.

Two short films were singled out for staff prizes. Molly Ratermann’s The Cosmopolitan West, about a bank heist in the wild west, took home the prize for Best Short Film. Marisa Coughlan’s V.I.P., a comedy about a mother at the breaking point, was awarded the Fun Is Good Bill Murray Comedic Shorts Award. Acclaimed actor Bill Murray again served as a TCFF guest judge this year, choosing his favorite funny short from a trio of finalists.

Below is the complete lineup of 2022 award winners.

2022 Award Winners

Best Feature Film Award: Women Talking, directed by Sarah Polley.
The Robert Byrd Best Documentary Award: Wildcat, directed by Trevor Frost and Melissa Lesh.
Best Short Film Award: The Cosmopolitan West, directed by Molly Ratermann.
Audience Award, Feature: Sins Of The Father, directed by Vanessa M. H. Powers
Audience Award, Non-Fiction: A Letter to Bryson, directed by Adrian Wilson
Audience Award, Short Film: The Mosquito, directed by Ross Michael Johnson & Jackie Deschamps
Indie Vision — Breakthrough Performance: Esmeralda Camargo, Marisol.
Indie Vision — Breakthrough Achievement: Steven Hauge, J.D. O’Brien and Brett Schnacky, After the Gunflint.
Fun Is Good Bill Murray Comedic Shorts Award: V.I.P., directed by Marisa Coughlan.
TCFF Changemaker Award (Climate Action: Food & Fashion): Maggie Baird and Stephanie Dillon.
TCFF Lifetime Achievement Award: Chris Mulkey.
2022 North Star Awards: Beau Bridges and Tom Cavanagh.
TCFF ‘Empower’ Award for Justice: Deborah Watts and Teri Watts.

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.