Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

No account yet? Register

Nicole Kidman to receive AFI Life Achievement Award
Nicole Kidman (Ruven Afandor for Corbis)

The American Film Institute (AFI) named Nicole Kidman the recipient of the 49th AFI Life Achievement Award, the highest honor for a career in film, celebrating her career achievements thus far. The award will be presented to Kidman at a Gala Tribute at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles on Saturday, June 10, 2023. She is the first Australian actor to receive this honor.

“Nicole Kidman has enchanted audiences for decades with the daring of her artistry and the glamour of a screen icon,” said Kathleen Kennedy, Chair of the AFI Board of Trustees. “She is a force both brave in her choices and bold in each performance. AFI is honored to present her with the 49th AFI Life Achievement Award.”

Throughout her distinguished career, Kidman has won a BAFTA Award, two Emmys®, six Golden Globes and her transformational turn as Virginia Woolf in The Hours earned her the Oscar® for Best Actress in 2003.

Her acting credits include Days of Thunder (1990), Far and Away (1992), Batman Forever (1995), to Die for (1995), the Portrait of a Lady (1996), Practical Magic (1998), the Others (2001), the Human Stain (2003), Cold Mountain (2003), Birth (2004), the Interpreter (2005), Australia (2008), Nine (2009), Rabbit Hole (2010), the Paperboy (2012), Stoker (2013), Paddington (2014), Queen of the Desert (2015), Lion (2016), the Killing of a Sacred Deer (2017), the Beguiled (2017), the Upside (2017), Boy Erased (2018), Destroyer (2018), Aquaman (2018), Bombshell (2019), and the Northman (2022).

In January of 2006, Kidman was awarded Australia’s highest honor, the Companion of the Order of Australia. She was also awarded the Berlin Film Festival’s Silver Bear award for her performance in The Hours. In 2017, the Cannes Film Festival honored Kidman with the 70th Anniversary Prize for her body of work and longstanding history with the festival. She is one of only eight people to ever receive this honor.

AFI Life Achievement Award Recipients

The 49th AFI Life Achievement Award Honoree joins an esteemed group of individuals who have been chosen for this distinguished honor since its inception.

1973 John Ford

1974 James Cagney

1975 Orson Welles

1976 William Wyler

1977 Bette Davis

1978 Henry Fonda

1979 Alfred Hitchcock

1980 James Stewart

1981 Fred Astaire

1982 Frank Capra

1983 John Huston

1984 Lillian Gish

1985 Gene Kelly

1986 Billy Wilder

1987 Barbara Stanwyck

1988 Jack Lemmon

1989 Gregory Peck

1990 David Lean

1991 Kirk Douglas

1992 Sidney Poitier

1993 Elizabeth Taylor

1994 Jack Nicholson

1995 Steven Spielberg

1996 Clint Eastwood

1997 Martin Scorsese

1998 Robert Wise

1999 Dustin Hoffman

2000 Harrison Ford

2001 Barbra Streisand

2002 Tom Hanks

2003 Robert De Niro

2004 Meryl Streep

2005 George Lucas

2006 Sean Connery

2007 Al Pacino

2008 Warren Beatty

2009 Michael Douglas

2010 Mike Nichols

2011 Morgan Freeman

2012 Shirley MacLaine

2013 Mel Brooks

2014 Jane Fonda

2015 Steve Martin

2016 John Williams

2017 Diane Keaton

2018 George Clooney

2019 Denzel Washington

2022 Julie Andrews

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.