Indiana Film Journalists Association 2022 Awards Winners - Everything Everywhere All at Once, RRR, TÁR
Everything Everywhere All at Once, RRR, TÁR

The Indiana Film Journalists Association voted Everything Everywhere All at Once as the Best Film of 2022. The film won a total of four honors including Ke Huy Quan for Best Supporting Performance, Paul Rogers for Best Editing and the Original Vision Award, which recognizes a film that is especially distinct and innovative.

Indian action film RRR was the runner-up for Best Film and also won Best Foreign Language Film and the new category of Best Stunt/Movement Choreography.

Cate Blanchett won Best Lead Performance for TÁR which also earned Best Director and Best Original Screenplay awards for Todd Field

Sarah Polley won the Best Adapted Screenplay award for Women Talking, which was also recognized for Best Ensemble Acting.

Best Animated Film went to Marcel the Shell with Shoes On, which also took the Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance award for Jenny Slate. I Didn’t See You There won Best Documentary, and Charlotte Wells won Breakout of the Year honors for her mature, layered debut as the writer-director of Aftersun.

The Edward Johnson-Ott Hoosier Award, which goes to a film or filmmaker with Indiana ties, went to Joshua Hull, co-writer of the horror film Glorious.

IFJA members issued this statement for the Edward Johnson-Ott Hoosier Award, “Joshua Hull is the rare Hoosier filmmaker who proved you don’t have to leave Indiana to make movies. He’s seen his career rise steadily as a writer, director and producer with local productions like “Chopping Block.” With the release of “Glorious,” Hull has broken out with mainstream success in a highly inventive film that blurs the line between horror, fantasy and character study. The IFJA looks forward eagerly to his next efforts.”

Here is a complete list of winners of Indiana Film Journalists Association 2022 Awards

Best Picture
Winner: “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Runner-up: “RRR”

Finalists: (listed alphabetically)
“After Yang”
“The Banshees of Inisherin”
“Decision to Leave”
“Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”
“Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”
“Top Gun: Maverick”
“Women Talking”

Best Animated Film
Winner: “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”
Runner-up: “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio”

Best Foreign Language Film
Winner: “RRR”
Runner-up: “Decision to Leave”

Best Documentary Film
Winner: “I Didn’t See You There”
Runner-up: “Bad Axe”

Best Original Screenplay
Winner: Todd Field, “TÁR”
Runner-up: Martin McDonagh, “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Best Adapted Screenplay
Winner: Sarah Polley, “Women Talking”
Runner-up: Kogonada, “After Yang”

Best Director
Winner: Todd Field, “TÁR”
Runner-up: Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best Lead Performance
Winner: Cate Blanchett, “TÁR”
Runner-up: Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best Supporting Performance
Winner: Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Runner-up: Brendan Gleeson, “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance
Winner: Jenny Slate, “Marcel the Shell With Shoes On”
Runner-up: Isabella Rossellini, “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”

Best Ensemble Acting
Winner: “Women Talking”
Runner-up: “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”

Best Musical Score
Winner: Michael Giacchino, “The Batman”
Runner-up: M.M. Keeravani, “RRR”

Breakout of the Year
Winner: Charlotte Wells (writer-director, “Aftersun”)
Runner-up: Jane Schoenbrun (writer-director, “We’re All Going to the World’s Fair”)

Best Cinematography
Winner: Hoyte Van Hoytema, “Nope”
Runner-up: Claudio Miranda, “Top Gun: Maverick”

Best Editing
Winner: Paul Rogers, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Runner-up: Kim Sang-bum, “Decision to Leave”

Best Stunt/Movement Choreography
Winner: Vicky Arora (action design and weapons trainer/stunt coordinator) and Raicho Vasilev (fight choreographer/stunt coordinator), and Prem Rakshith (dance choreographer), “RRR”

Runner-up: Daniel Hernandez (stunt coordinator/fight coordinator), Grant Powell (stunt coordinator), and Jénel Stevens (fight choreographer), “The Woman King”

Original Vision Award
Winner: “Everything Everywhere All At Once”
Runner-up: “Marcel the Shell With Shoes On”

The Edward Johnson-Ott Hoosier Award*
Winner: Joshua Hull (“Glorious”)

*As a special honor, no runner-up is named for the Hoosier Award. It is named after founding IFJA member and longtime NUVO Newsweekly critic Edward Johnson-Ott.

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.