Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

No account yet? Register

Brian Tyree Henry in Causeway
Brian Tyree Henry in Causeway

Inspection, Till, and Causeway are among the films recognized by the African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) at the 14th annual AAFCA Awards. Till received a special Impact Award along with Best Actress for Danielle Deadwyler and the Emerging Face award for Jaylin Hall.

Other awards including Best Actor went to Jeremy Pope for The Inspection, Best Supporting Actor went to Brian Tyree Henry for Causeway, and Emerging Filmmaker went to Carey Williams for Emergency.

Best Independent Feature went to Nanny, Best Animated Feature went to Wendell & Wild, Best Documentary went to Sidney, Best International Feature went to Saint Omer, Best Live Action Short went to Kendrick Lamar’s “We Cry Together” and Best Animated Short went to Colman and Raul Domingo’s “New Moon.”  

Winners and special honorees will be celebrated at the 14th Annual AAFCA Awards on March 1st at the Beverly Wilshire, a Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills.  

“AAFCA is deeply honored to recognize some of the most captivating films and performances of the year,” said AAFCA president and co-founder Gil Robertson. “These thought-provoking stories of strength, determination and courage lift us and entertain us. It’s an honor to recognize the incredible, visionary work both in front of and behind the camera of this year’s AAFCA Award winners.”

2023 AAFCA Awards Winners

Best Picture: The Woman King
Best Director: Gina Prince-Bythewood (The Woman King)
Best Actor: Jeremy Pope (The Inspection)
Best Actress: Danielle Deadwyler (Till)
Best Supporting Actor: Brian Tyree Henry (Causeway)
Best Supporting Actress: Angela Bassett (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)
Emerging Face: Jaylin Hall (Till & Bruiser)
Emerging Filmmaker: Carey Williams (Emergency)
Best Independent Feature: Nanny
Best Animated Feature: Wendell & Wild
Best Documentary: Sidney
Best Ensemble: Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
Best Writing: Rian Johnson (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)
Best International Feature: Saint Omer
Best Song: “Lift Me Up” (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)
Best Live Action Short: We Cry Together
Best Animated Short: New Moon


Impact Award: Till
The Innovator Award, presented by Nissan: Composer, Michael Abels (Nope)
Building Change Award, presented by Lowes: Production Designer, Hannah Beachler (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)
The Beacon Award: Antoine Fuqua and Will Smith (Emancipation)
The Ashley Boone Award: Producer, Nate Moore (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

AAFCA’S Top 10 Films of 2022

  1. The Woman King
  2. Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
  3. Till
  4. Sidney
  5. Emancipation
  6. Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery
  7. Inspection
  8. Causeway
  9. Everything Everywhere All at Once
  10. Wendell & Wild
Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.