Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

No account yet? Register

Christopher Dane in BEING SOLD

Director Phil Hawkins took the Grand Prize at the 8th London Independent Film Festival his feature film Being Sold. The dark comedy tells the story of a man who puts himself up for online auction and attracts a storm of media attention. Hawkins, whose debut feature The Butterfly Tattoo met with critical success in 2009, scooped the prize which includes a £50k post-production deal with LIFF sponsor Prime Focus London. Being Sold, which was shot for only £25k, also earned its star Christopher Dane LIFF’s best actor award.

Dutch helmer Christianne van Wijk won LIFF’s Best Director award for her debut feature The Scandalous Four, a period drama of sexual tensions set in the 1800’s. The film also scored the festival’s Best LGBT Film Award.

American Director Joan Sekler took the festival’s prize for Best Documentary for her coverage of striking miners in California in Locked Out. Actress Chloë Annett won the award for Best Actress for her title role in Leila.

Director Richard Harrison of The Honey Killer, and Director Greg Hall of SSDD, took the festival’s awards for Best Micro-Budget, and Best No-Budget Features respectively. While Paul Tanter’s Jack Falls, and David M. Reynolds Zomblies took the festival prizes for Best Action Film and Best SCI-FI/Horror respectively.

The 2011 festival jury was headed by actor Robert Carlyle and cinematographer Sean Bobbitt.

Festival Director Erich Schultz said: “Another year of absolutely fantastic low-budget films from around the world. I’m certain we’ll be seeing many great things from these filmmakers in the very near future.”

Hosted at several screening venues across London, the 2011 London Independent Film Festival screened over 70 films over 10 days.

A full list of 2011 London Independent Film Festival winners:

Best Film
Phil Hawkins for BEING SOLD

Best Action Film
Paul Tanter for JACK FALLS

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Feature
David M Reynolds for ZOMBLIES

Best LGBT Film
Christianne van Wijk for THE SCANDALOUS FOUR

Best Micro-Budget Feature
Richard Harrison for THE HONEY KILLER

Best Documentary
Joan Sekler for LOCKED OUT

Best No-Budget Feature
Greg Hall for SSDD

Best Director
Christianne van Wijk for THE SCANDALOUS FOUR

Best Actress
Chloë Annett for LEILA

Best Actor
Christopher Dane for BEING SOLD

Best Editing
Eve Hazelton for ZOMBLIES

Best Short (International)
Alejandro Alvarez for DEEP SLEEP

Best Short (UK)

Best Short (animated)
Rok Predin for WINTER POEM

Best Short Documentary
Zillah Bowes for SMALL PROTESTS

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Short Film
Matt Bloom for ENDLESS

Best Music Video (UK)
David Buchanan A CAT ONLINE

Best Short Short
Jessica Townsend for HUMANE RESOURCES

Best Screenplay (International)

Best Screenplay (UK)
Anis Prudiva for Mutte

Best Sci-Fi / Horror Screenplay
Paul Treader for THE HELL BUNNY

Best Short Screenplay
Linnette Brown for DEEP INSIDE

Best Screenplay Pitch
Rachel McIntyre for CONNECT THE DOTS

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.