No account yet? Register

Safety Not Guaranteed

“Safety Not Guaranteed” took top honors, winning Best Film as well as Best Original Screenplay (Derek Connolly) at the Indiana Film Journalists Association 2012 Awards.  “Beasts of the Southern Wild” was the runner-up for Best Film and also won the Original Vision Award, which recognizes a film that is especially innovative or groundbreaking. Eight other films were named Finalists for Best Film.

Stephen Chbosky won Best Adapted Screenplay for “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” “Rise of the Guardians” was named Best Animated Film, “Searching for Sugar Man“ Best Documentary and “The Raid: Redemption” Best Foreign Language Film. 

The Hoosier Award, which recognizes a significant cinematic contribution by a person or persons with Indiana roots, went to Jon Vickers, Founding Director of Indiana University Cinema.  

The following is the complete list of honored films:

Best Film
Winner: Safety Not Guaranteed
Runner-Up: Beasts of the Southern Wild

Other Finalists (listed alphabetically):
Django Unchained
Les Misérables
Moonrise Kingdom
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Sessions
Silver Linings Playbook
Zero Dark Thirty

Best Animated Feature
Winner: Rise of the Guardians
Runner-Up: ParaNorman

Best Foreign Language Film
Winner: The Raid: Redemption
Runner-Up: Amour

Best Documentary
Winner: Searching for Sugar Man
Runner-Up: Room 237

Best Original Screenplay
Winner: Derek Connolly, “Safety Not Guaranteed”
Runner-Up: Quentin Tarantino, “Django Unchained”

Best Adapted Screenplay
Winner: Stephen Chbosky, “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”
Runner-Up: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”

Best Director
Winner: Quentin Tarantino, “Django Unchained”
Runner-Up: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Actress
Winner: Jessica Chastain, “Zero Dark Thirty”
Runner-Up: Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook”

Best Supporting Actress
Winner: Anne Hathaway, “Les Misérables”
Runner-Up: Helen Hunt, “The Sessions”

Best Actor
Winners (Tie):
Bradley Cooper, “Silver Linings Playbook”
Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”

Best Supporting Actor
Winner: Tommy Lee Jones, “Lincoln”
Runner-Up: Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained”

Best Musical Score
Winner: Thomas Newman, “Skyfall”
Runner-Up: Mychael Danna, “Life of Pi”

Original Vision Award
Winner: Beasts of the Southern Wild
Runner-Up: Django Unchained

The Hoosier Award
Winner: Jon Vickers, Founding Director of Indiana University Cinema

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.