2016 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Film Independent is now accepting entries for the 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards, with the Regular Deadline on Tuesday, September 19, 2017 and the Final Deadline on Tuesday, October 10, 2017.

The nominations will be announced on Tuesday, November 21, 2017, and the Awards will be held on Saturday, March 3, 2018 and will premiere exclusively on IFC.

In addition to celebrating the broad spectrum of independent filmmaking, the Spirit Awards is also the primary fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity in the industry.

Film Independent Members comprise the exclusive voting body who determines the winners of the Film Independent Spirit Awards. Members are filmmakers, film industry leaders and film lovers. Anyone passionate about film can join by December 7, 2017 to be eligible to vote for the winners of the 2018 Film Independent Spirit Awards and receive full nominee screening privileges.

Artists who have received industry recognition first at the Spirit Awards include Joel and Ethan Coen, Ava DuVernay, Spike Lee, Lynn Shelton, Oliver Stone, Ashley Judd, Steve McQueen, Robert Rodriguez, David O. Russell, Aaron Eckhart, Neil LaBute, Darren Aronofsky, Spike Jonze, Charlie Kaufman, Hilary Swank, Marc Forster, Todd Field, Christopher Nolan, Zach Braff, Amy Adams, Lena Dunham, Justin Simien and many more.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards include the following categories: Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best Screenplay, Best First Screenplay, Best Director, John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature made for a budget under $500,000), Best Male Lead, Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Male, Best Supporting Female, Best Cinematography, Best Editing, Best International Film and Best Documentary. This year Film Independent  introduces the Bonnie Award to recognize a talented, mid-career female director. Other grants, for emerging filmmakers include the Producers Award funded by Piaget, the Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award, funded by Kiehl’s Since 1851 and the Truer Than Fiction Award.

Share this article ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.