Caitríona Balfe in Belfast
Caitríona Balfe in Belfast

The Iowa Film Critics Association awarded Belfast the honors of Best Film of 2021 along with Best Supporting Actress for Caitríona Balfe for their annual awards honoring the best films and performances. The honor of Best Documentary went to Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised).

Winners and runners-up of 2021 Iowa Film Critics Awards

Here is the complete list of winners and runners-up of 2021 Iowa Film Critics awards

Best Film

Winner: Belfast
Runners–up: Dune and The Power of the Dog

Best Director

Winner: Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog
Runners–up: Kenneth Branagh, Belfast and Denis Villeneuve, Dune

Best Actor

Winner: Andrew Garfield, tick tick… BOOM!
Runners–up: Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog and Will Smith, King Richard

Best Actress

Winner: Lady Gaga, House of Gucci
Runners–up: Olivia Colman, The Lost Daughter and Kristen Stewart, Spencer

Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power of the Dog
Runners–up: Jamie Dornan, Belfast and Ciarán Hinds, Belfast

Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Caitríona Balfe, Belfast
Runners–up: Ariana DeBose, West Side Story and Kirsten Dunst, The Power of the Dog

Best Animated Film

Winner: Encanto
Runners–up: Flee and Raya and the Last Dragon

Best Documentary

Winner: Summer of Soul
Runners–up: Flee and The Rescue

Best Score

Winner: Jonny Greenwood, The Power of the Dog
Runners–up: Alexandre Desplat, The French Dispatch and Hans Zimmer, Dune

Best Song

Winner: “Guns Go Bang” from The Harder They Fall
Runners–up: “Down to Joy” from Belfast and “No Time to Die” from No Time to Die

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.