Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease loginn

No account yet? Register

The Rest of Us by Florencia Krochik
The Rest of Us by Florencia Krochik

Florencia Krochik’s The Rest of Us, a feature documentary about DACA kids shot over a decade, won Best Picture at the 13th DTLA Film Festival. Other award winners included director Martin Torrez’ “The Great American Low Rider Tradition,” a feature documentary about the Lowrider culture of East Los Angeles, which took the Audience Favorite Award, and Sophie Galibert, named Best Director for “Cherry,” a narrative dramedy that tackles the hot-button topic of abortion.

Also taking honors were Jessica Rae for Best Screenplay (Raise Your Hand), 5-25-77 for Best Editing and The Art of Rebellion for Best Documentary Feature. The scifi thriller Catalyst, making its world premiere, was awarded prizes for Best Ensemble Cast and Best Special Effects. The Best Anthology Film award went to “Covid Sins & Virtues.”

This year the festival changed to nongender-specific acting categories. Best Actors awards for lead performances in a feature film were given to Ericka Clevenger (Red Raincoats), Jesse Gavin (Northern Exposure), Austin Nichols, (Match), Ahna O’Reilly (Match), Nina Tarr (Red Raincoats), Alexandria Treuwhitt (Cherry) and Dee Wallace (Nix).

The entire list of winners of 2022 DTLA Film Festival in all categories follows.


Best Picture
“The Rest of Us,” director: Florencia Krochik

Audience Favorite Award
“The Great American Low Rider Tradition,” director: by Martin Torrez

Best Cinematographer
Juan Esco and Matthew Plaxco, Catalyst

Best Director, Narrative Feature
Sophie Galibert, “Cherry”

Best Actors
Ericka Clevenger, “Red Raincoats”
Jesse Gavin, “Northern Exposure”
Ahna O’Reilly, “Match
Austin Nichols, “Match “
Nina Tarr, “Red Raincoat”
Alexandria Treuwhitt, “Cherry”
Dee Wallace, Nix

Best Supporting Actors
Sandy Duarte, “Cherry”
Brooke Maroon, “Turbo Cola”
Nyambi Nyambi, “In Her Name”
Dan Schultz, “Cherry”

Best Screenplay
Raise Your Hand, Jessica Rae

Best Ensemble Cast
“Catalyst”: David Bianchi, Joni Bovil, Darin Cooper, Steve Eastin, Noel Gugliemi, Patrick Kilpatrick, Umar Khan, Melanie Liburd, Jermaine Love, Enrico Natale, Michael Roark.

Best Editing
“5-27-77,” Alain K. Blair, Alex Creager and Kat Thomas

Breakthrough Performance
Miguel Ángel Garcia, “Carlos Through The Tall Grass”

Best New Director
Aaron Dougherty, “The Best Day Of Your Life”

Best Documentary
”The Art of Rebellion,” directed by Libby Spears

Best Film Score
“OKAY!” (The ASD band Film), composed by Tim Mann

Best Music Documentary
“Nothing But The Blood,” directed by Carmen Lundy

Best Anthology Film
“Covid Sins & Virtues,” directed by Yeniffer M. Behrens, Mauricio Mendoza, Oscar Torre, Hugo Garcia, Caroline Brethenoux, Hernan de Becky, Cesar Gamino, Juan Gil, Marabina James, Miguel Paredes, Shanay Patalano, Jesus Schettino, Alex Toedtli Mera

Best Special Effects


Best Film
“Yae: Blind Samurai Woman,” director: Akiko Izumitani

Best Director
Alexander Thompson, “Black Dragon”

Best Director, Documentary
Erika Valenciana, La Mitad del Mundo/The Middle of the World)

Best Actors
Katherine Castro, “Weak”
Cindy De La Cruz, “Ro & The Stardust”
Arami Malaisé, “Viva”
Brandon Thomas, “Reggie and June”

Best New Director
Jason Yamamoto, “When You Leave”

Best Duo Performance
Princess Adenike and Mister Fitzgerald, “30 Weeks”

Best Ensemble Cast
“We All Die Alone”: Brian Patrick Butler, Frank DiPalermo, Joshua Alan Jones, Patrick Mayuyu, Durwood Murray, Carla Nell, Suzan Norberg, Alexndra Slade

Breakthrough Performance
Bella Zoe Shashaty, “Glory & Injustice”

Best Experimental Short
“La Cuarentena,” director: Johaira Michelle Dilauro

Best Animated Short
“How to Lose Weight and Look Great,” director: Nolan Wang

Best Comedy Short:
“Dog Lover,” director: Anne-Sophie Bine

Best Student Short
Havana, director: Faith Strongheart

Best Drama Short
“Le Ballon Bleu” (“The Blue Balloon”), director: Katherine Griffin

Best Horror/Thriller/Fantasy Short
“Wolves,” director: Jesús Celaya

Best Documentary Short
“Powers,” director: Paige Morrow Kimball

Best Foreign Language Short Film
“Toro De Oro” (“The Golden Bull”), director: Pedro Pérez Nuñez

Best “Short Short”
“The Vortex,”director: Karolyne Sosa

Best First-Time Actors
Yolanda Nolasco, “Ro & The Stardust”
Justin DeLaCruz, “Invade”

Best Sci Fi Short
“Ro & The Stardust,” director: Eunice Levis


Best TV Pilot
“Faculty Lounging,” director Richard Andrew Janes

Best Actor
Natalie Birriel, “Flow!”

Best Director
Elaine Del Valle, Brownsville Bred

Best Screenwriter
Kate Duffy,Faculty Lounging”

Best Ensemble CasT
“How to Hack Birth Control”: Holden Aisha Renee, Powell Austin, Royce Danny, Jacobson Jackie, Harris Lauren Elizabeth, Rach Megan


Best Web Series
“(U)nclaimed,” director: Carolyn Ratteray

Best Actor
Devon O’Kane, “Handsome”

Best Director
Devon O’Kane, Handsome”

Best Screenplay
Carolyn Ratteray, “(U)nclaimed”

Best Ensemble Cast
“Retrograde”: Parsons Anna, Neff Devin, Gillian Jasmine, Korotko Lidiya, Rose Heywood Millie, Spring Voss Pearl

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.