Eddie Redmayne, Aubrey Plaza, Jonathan Majors, Keke Palmer honored at Newport Beach Film Festival
Eddie Redmayne, Aubrey Plaza, Jonathan Majors, Keke Palmer honored at Newport Beach Film Festival

Director Ron Howard along with Aubrey Plaza, Jonathan Majors, Keke Palmer and Patton Oswalt are among the individuals honored at the upcoming 2022 Newport Beach Film Festival (NBFF). NBFF will also honor Eddie Redmayne, Colson Baker, Cooper Raiff, Anna Diop, Paul Feig, and Aimee Carrero.

Academy Award®-winning filmmaker Ron Howard (Thirteen Lives) will receive the Variety Legend and Groundbreaker Award for his outstanding creative leadership and impactful artistic achievements that have proved both visionary and enduring.

Aubrey Plaza (Emily the Criminal), Jonathan Majors (Devotion), Keke Palmer (Nope) and Patton Oswalt (I Love My Dad) will receive Artist of Distinction Awards, presented to individuals known for their contribution to the arts, philanthropic endeavors, and an overriding commitment to their craft to tell unique and bold stories. Colson Baker (Taurus) and Anna Diop (Nanny) will receive Spotlight Awards, Cooper Raiff (Cha Cha Real Smooth) will receive the Maverick Award, and Aimee Carrero (The Menu) will receive the Breakout Award.

Eddie Redmayne will attend the NBFF Centerpiece screening of The Good Nurse, where the festival will honor him with the Icon Award, presented to an actor or actress widely admired for their contribution and iconic role(s) in the industry. Filmmaker Paul Feig will receive the Career Achievement Award at a screening for The School of Good and Evil.

This year’s honorees will also be joined by Adam Sandler, who will receive the festival’s inaugural Performance of the Year Award in recognition of his work in Jeremiah Zagar’s Hustle.

The 23rd edition of the festival will be held in person from October 13-20 and will spotlight over 350 films from around the world. Following is brief information on this year’s diverse slate of Newport Beach Film Festival honorees:

The Festival Honors event will also recognize Variety’s 10 Actors to Watch: Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin), Stephanie Hsu (Everything Everywhere All at Once), Ximena Lamadrid (Bardo), Christina Jackson (Devotion), Thuso Mbedu (The Woman King), Zen McGrath (The Son), Amber Midthunder (Prey), Sam Nivola (White Noise), Jeremy Pope (The Inspection), and Joseph Quinn (Stranger Things).

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.