Prague Independent Film Festival 2023 Winners
Prague Independent Film Festival 2023 Winners

Graham Streeter’s “Unfix” won the prestigious Best Feature award at the Prague Independent Film Festival 2023 in Prague, Czech Republic. Streeter’s film delves into the poignant journey of Ari, who, after enduring Conversion Therapy at a young age, finds himself questioning his identity during a global pandemic. “Unfix” is a poignant exploration of self-discovery and the complexity of human emotions.

Damon Mckinnis received an Honorary Mention for acting for his exceptional performance in “Unfix.” His portrayal of Jon’s internal struggles and emotions resonated deeply with the festival’s judges and audiences alike.

Finnish director and actress Anna Eriksson was a standout at this year’s festival, receiving three awards – Best Director, Best Actress and Best Art Direction for her evocative art-house drama “W.” The multi-talented director’s unwavering dedication to the art of filmmaking and her narrative finesse left an indelible mark on the festival.

In “W,” Anna Eriksson tells the story of terminally ill Madame Europa languishing at her last post in the company of her Chinese man-machine. This cinematic masterpiece challenges our understanding of words, ideas, and symbols that once held immense weight, and confronts the evolving human condition.

Hollywood legend Bo Svenson received the Best Unproduced Script Award for his screenplay “A Dream of America”. The masterfully written epic drama about two young Finnish immigrants in Chicago set during the dawning of WWII greatly impressed the festival jury.

Short films which received awards included “The Intermission” by Ben von Grafenstein (Best Short Film), “Master of Sento” by Yusuke Ishide (Best Short Film Director), “Cactus” by Dimitris Zouras (Best Cinematography) and “A Rush of Peace” by Jake Lockett (Best Screenplay).

Full list of winners of Prague Independent Film Festival 2023

Best Feature Film – “Unfix” – directed by Graham Streeter
Best Director – Anna Eriksson – “W”
Best Actress – Anna Eriksson – “W”
Best Film Score – “You Are The Story” – music by Saro Cosentino & Tim Bowness
Best Short Film – “The Intermission” – directed by Ben von Grafenstein
Best Short Film Director – Yusuke Ishide – The “Master of Sento”
Best Cinematography – directed by Dimitris Zouras – Cactus
Best Art Direction – Anna Eriksson – “W”
Best Animated Film – A Boat in the Rain – directed by Yoana Atanasova
Best Screenplay – “A Rush of Peace” – written by M Hayward Scott & directed by Jake Lockett
Best Documentary Film – “Egypt” – directed by Erik Jakobsen
Best Experimental Film – “Achilles” – directed by Adam Morris
Best Music Video – “Kogersin” – directed by Malik Zenger
Best Unproduced Script – “The Dream of America” – written by Bo Svenson

Honorary Mentions –
To Damon McKinnis for his acting in “Unfix”
To Natalie Brown for directing “Slut Chain”
To Margaux Tiltman for acting and producing “Oh Claire!”
To Christopher Willis for directing “The Book of Disquiet”

Share ...

FILMS in this article

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.

Please follow us to get updates online.