The ninth annual Tribeca Film Festival announced the winners of its world competition categories. The world competition winners for narrative and documentary films were chosen from 12 narrative and 12 documentary features from 20 countries. Two awards were given to honor New York films, which were chosen from seven narrative and six documentary features. Awards were also given for the best narrative, best documentary and student visionary films in the short film competitions. This year’s Festival included 85 features and 47 short films from 38 countries.

Also announced at the awards were the first-ever Tribeca Film Festival Virtual feature and short film winners selected by the online audience,  The winner of The Heineken Audience Award, determined by audience votes throughout the Festival, will be announced on May 1 at the Festival Wrap party.

The winners and their awards:

World Competition Categories:

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature – When We Leave (Die Fremde), directed and written by Feo Aladag. (Germany).
Special Jury Mention: Loose Cannons, directed by Ferzan Ozpetek and written by Ferzan Ozpetek and Ivan Cotroneo.

Best New Narrative Filmmaker – Kim Chapiron for Dog Pound, written by Kim Chapiron and Jeremie Delon. (France).

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film – Eric Elmosnino as Serge Gainsbourg in Gainsbourg, Je t’Aime…Moi Non Plus, directed and written by Joann Sfar. (France).

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film – Sibel Kekilli as Umay in When We Leave (Die Fremde), directed and written by Feo Aladag. (Germany).

World Documentary Competition

Best Documentary Feature – Monica & David, directed by Alexandra Codina. (USA).
Special Jury Mention: Budrus directed by Julia Bacha (USA, Palestine, Israel).

Best New Documentary Filmmaker – Clio Barnard for The Arbor (UK).

New York Competition Categories:

Best New York Narrative – Monogamy, directed by Dana Adam Shapiro, written by Dana Adam Shapiro and Evan M. Weiner. (USA).

Special Jury Mention: Melissa Leo for her performance in The Space Between, directed and written by Travis Fine. (USA).

Best New York Documentary Competition

Best New York Documentary – The Woodmans, directed by C. Scott Willis. (USA, Italy, China).

Short Film Competition Categories:

Best Narrative Short – Father Christmas Doesn’t Come Here, directed by Bekhi Sibiya, written by Sibongile Nkosana, Bongi Ndaba. (South Africa).

Special Jury Mention: The Crush, directed and written by Michael Creagh. (Ireland).

Best Documentary and Student Short Competition

Best Documentary Short – White Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug, directed and written by Travis Senger. (USA).

Special Jury Mention: Out of Infamy: Michi Nishiura Weglyn, directed and written by Nancy Kapitanoff, Sharon Yamato. (USA).

Student Visionary Award – some boys don’t leave, directed by Maggie Kiley, written by Matthew Mullen, Maggie Kiley. (USA).

Special Jury Mention: The Pool Party, directed and written by Sara Zandieh. (Iran, USA).


The 2010 Tribeca Film Festival Virtual winners were voted on by the TFF Virtual premium passholders.

Tribeca Film Festival VIRTUAL Best Feature Film: Spork, directed and written by J. B. Ghuman, Jr. (USA).

Tribeca Film Festival VIRTUAL Best Short Film: Delilah, Before, directed by Melanie Schiele.


Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.