Winter's Bone by Debra Granik
Winter’s Bone by Debra Granik

Winter’s Bone by Debra Granik was the big winner at the Stockholm International Film Festival Award taking the prizes for Best Film, Fipresci – The International Film Critics Prize for Best Film, and lead actress, Jennifer Lawrence, taking the best prize for Best Actress.

Winter’s Bone synopsis: “Deep in the Ozark Mountains, clans live by a code of conduct that no one dares defy—until an intrepid teenage girl has no other choice. When Ree Dolly’s crystal-meth-making father skips bail and goes missing, her family home is on the line. Unless she finds him, she and her young siblings and disabled mother face destitution. In a heroic quest, Ree traverses the county to confront her kin, break their silent collusion, and bring her father home.

With thrilling tension, Winter’s Bone depicts an archetypal rite of passage from adolescence to adulthood. Only this time, the young warrior is a girl. As our heroine braves immoveable obstacles, she redefines the notion of family loyalty and, in the process, discovers her own power. The spare precision of Debra Granik’s direction is effortlessly profound. Stunningly genuine performances and exquisite visual details capture the textures and rhythms of a world where the mythic and the naturalistic intermingle.”

21st Stockholm International Film Festival Winners

Best Film – Winter’s Bone by Debra Granik

Best Actress – Jennifer Lawrence n Winter’s Bone

Best Actor – George Pistereanu in If I Want To Whistle, I Whistle

Best First Feature – Bi, Don’t Be Afraid by Phang Dang di Best Screenplay David Michôd for Animal Kingdom

Best Cinematography – Pham Quang Minh for Bi, Don’t Be Afraid

Jameson Film Music Award – Magnus Börjesson and Fred Avril for Sound of Noise

Honorable mention – Neds by Peter Mullan

Best Short Film – Out of Love by Birgitte Staermose

Short Film Honorable mention – Megaheavy by Fenar Ahmad

Telia Film Award – Monga by Doze Niu

Fipresci – The International Film Critics Prize for Best Film – Winter’s Bone by Debra Granik

1km film scholarship – Hugo Lilja for Återfödelsen

1km film honorable mention – Karsan Kader for Bekas

1km film honorable mention – Mikael Bundsen for Something begins, something ends

L’Oréal Paris Rising Star – Alicia Vikander

Silver Audience Award – This Is England ’86 by Shane Meadows Waste Land by Lucy Walker

iFestival – Sister by Michael Rittmannsberger and Sonja Aufderklamm

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.