Bookmark (0)
ClosePlease login

No account yet? Register

Transformer  directed by Michael Del Monte

The Austin Film Festival (AFF) announced the 2017 Script Competition Winners and the Film Competition Jury Award Winners.

In Blue directed by Jaap van Heusden won the award for Best Narrative Feature, and Transformer  directed by Michael Del Monte won the award for Best Documentary Feature.

In “In Blue”,  a flight attendant who has successfully existed as a single independent woman for years finds herself delivering a child mid flight. This moment flips her world on its head.

Transformer tells the story of former US Marine and world record weightlifter Matt Kroczaleski who was publicly outed as transgender in the summer of 2015.  The reaction was universal: her sponsors abandoned her, she was disowned by her parents, and banned from competing. Now Janae, she must find her place in society, unable to lose the muscle she once so desperately gained and living one day as an alpha male and the next day as a delicate girl.

2017 Austin Film Festival Film Competition Jury Award Winners

Narrative Feature: In Blue written by Jan-Willem den Bok and Jaap van Heusden

Narrative Feature Honorable Mention: Boost written by Darren Curtis

Documentary Feature in partnership with POV:  Transformer directed by Michael Del Monte

Comedy Vanguard Feature: Don’t Talk to Irene written by Pat Mills

Dark Matters Feature: Freddy/Eddy written by Tini Tüllman

Narrative Short presented by ShortsTV: Demon written by Caleb Slain

Narrative Student Short: Towards the Sun written by Elie Choufany and Monica Santis

Documentary Short: Los Comandos directed by Joshua Bennett and Juliana Schatz Preston

Animated Short: Second to None written by Vincent Gallagher

Scripted Digital Series presented by Stage 13:  Cleaner Daze created by Tess Sweet and Daniel Gambelin

2017 Austin Film Festival Script Competition Winners

Drama Screenplay Award presented by the Writers Guild of America, East:  Brokenhearted by Caroline Hopkins

Comedy Screenplay Award presented by Sony Pictures Animation: The Olympian by Troy Miller

Sci-Fi Screenplay Award presented by Skybound Entertainment:  Every Horizon Beyond by Henry Tranton

Enderby Entertainment Award: Apacheria by Andrew Reuland & Joey Grossfield

Horror Screenplay Award: Family Photos by Chad Harris

AMC One-Hour Pilot Award: Breakfield by Caitlin Schneiderhan

Sitcom Pilot Award: The Big D by Jill Taylor

Short Screenplay Award: Ringneck by Michael Allcock

Scripted Digital Series Award presented by Stage 13: The Range by Adam Groff

One-Hour Spec Award: Black Mirror: Punchbag by Steven Snell

Sitcom Spec Award: You’re the Worst: Antiversary by Cara Brown

Playwriting Award underwritten by Sweetwood Creative: Signature Photo by Michael Bucklin

Fiction Podcast Award presented by Public Radio International: How to Build a Fire by Kat Sandler

Share ...

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.