Princess of the Row
Princess of the Row

After showcasing 213 feature films, 237 short films, 15 virtual reality films, and 3 interactive media projects, the winners of the competitions and awards of the the 43rd Cleveland International Film Festival (CIFF) were announced at the Closing Night Ceremony on Sunday. Princess of the Row, directed by Van Maximilian Carlson won the Roxanne T. Mueller Audience Choice Award for Best Film.

Jennifer Baichwal was in attendance to receive the CIFF’s esteemed Director Spotlight Award, and director Jamie Babbit was recognized as the inaugural year recipient of the DReam Catcher Award, in honor of CIFF’s beloved long-serving trustee, Dave Ream.

The 44th Cleveland International Film Festival will take place March 25 – April 5, 2020 at Tower City Cinemas.

Roxanne T. Mueller Audience Choice Award for Best Film
PRINCESS OF THE ROW, directed by Van Maximilian Carlson (USA)

ReelWomenDirect Award for Excellence in Directing by a Woman
Sara Zandieh (for SIMPLE WEDDING; USA)

George Gund III Memorial Central and Eastern European Competition
ONE DAY, directed by Zsófia Szilágyi (Hungary)

Nesnadny + Schwartz Portrait Documentary Competition
HESBURGH, directed by Patrick Creadon (USA)

New Direction Competition
GOOD GIRL GONE BAD, directed by Petra Lüschow (Germany)

Greg Gund Memorial Standing Up Competition
THIS CHANGES EVERYTHING, directed by Tom Donahue (USA)

Global Health Competition
QUIET STORM: THE RON ARTEST STORY, directed by Johnny Sweet (USA)

American Independents Competition
BRIAN BANKS, directed by Tom Shadyac (USA)

Local Heroes Competition
TONI MORRISON: THE PIECES I AM, directed by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders (USA)

Music Movies Competition
MILES DAVIS: BIRTH OF THE COOL, directed by Stanley Nelson (United Kingdom, USA)

Ad Hoc Docs Competition
LOOPERS: THE CADDIE’S LONG WALK, directed by Jason Baffa (USA)

International Narrative Competition
YOMEDDINE, directed by A.B. Shawky (Egypt)

FilmSlam Student Choice Award for Best Feature Film
LONG TIME COMING: A 1955 BASEBALL STORY, directed by Jon Strong (USA)

Audience Choice Award for Best Short Film Overall
FIRE IN CARDBOARD CITY, directed by Phil Brough (New Zealand)

Best Animated Short Award*
IAN, A MOVING STORY, directed by Abel Goldfarb (Argentina)

Best Documentary Short Award*
FOOTSTEPS OF MY FATHER, directed by Paul Allman (USA)

Best Live Action Short Award*

FilmSlam Student Choice Award for Best Short Film
FIND HARBOUR FOR A DAY, directed by Paul Marques Duarte (France)

*These award winners will qualify for consideration in the Short Films category of the annual Academy Awards.®

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.