The Falconer directed by Adam Sjöberg and Seanne Winslow.
The Falconer directed by Adam Sjöberg and Seanne Winslow.

The Falconer directed by Adam Sjöberg and Seanne Winslow won the award for Best Film at the 22nd edition of the Newport Beach Film Festival, along with Best Cinematographer for Nicholas Bupp and Best Screenwriter for Adam Sjöberg / Seanne Winslow; and Best Documentary went to SET!

Belfast continued its winning streak, taking the Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature; the Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature went to Unzipped: An Autopsy of American Inequality, and Best International Film went to The Hand of God.

The 2021 Festival honorees include Rosanna Arquette (Icon Award), Winston Duke (Maverick Award), Regina Hall (Artist of Distinction Award), Harvey Keitel (Lifetime Achievement Award), Ray Liotta (Icon Award), Thomasin McKenzie (Breakout Performance Award), Simon Rex (Spotlight Award), Jeffrey Wright (Variety Legend and Groundbreaker Award).

The event also featured Variety’s 10 Actors to Watch awards recognizing emerging talent in film and television: Camille Cottin, Danielle Deadwyler, Leslie Grace, Moses Ingram, Emilia Jones, Jaden Michael, Justin H. Min, Angourie Rice, Filippo Scotti and Saniyya Sidney.

“The 2021 Awards represent excellence in original storytelling and exceptional creative talent. With a solid number of premieres, awards contenders and a strong presence of local and international films, the Festival drew enthusiastic audiences. The Festival was proud to be back on the big screen in person and host a remarkable number of filmmakers,” stated Gregg Schwenk, NBFF’s CEO / Co-Founder.

Newport Beach Film Festival 2021 Award Winners


Best Narrative Feature: Belfast
Best Documentary Feature: Unzipped: An Autopsy of American Inequality (World Premiere)
Best International Film: The Hand of God (Italy)
Best Animated Feature: Flee
Best Art Architecture + Design Film: Tell Them We Were Here
Best Action Sports Film: *Tie* – Birth of an Endless Summer: Discovery of Cape St. Francis (World Premiere) / In the Water: Behind the Lens (World Premiere)
Best Culinary Film: Michelin Stars II – Nordic by Nature (North American Premiere)
Best Environmental Film *Tie*: Still a Black Star (World Premiere) / After the Wildfires
Best Music Film: Like a Rolling Stone: The Life & Times of Ben Fong-Torres
Best Short Narrative: Freya
Best Short Documentary *Tie*: Radical Love / Imagemaker
Best Music Video: enough.
Best Animated Short: Maestro


Narrative Feature Film

Best Film: The Falconer
Best Actor: Gabriel Byrne – Death of a Ladies Man
Best Actress: Kali Reis – Catch the Fair One
Best Director: Seán Breathnach – Shelter (Foscadh) (Ireland)
Best Cinematographer: Nicholas Bupp – The Falconer
Best Screenwriter: Adam Sjöberg / Seanne Winslow – The Falconer

Documentary Feature Film

Best Documentary: SET!

Short Films

Animated Short: Flowing Home
Narrative Short: ALA KACHUU – Take and Run
Documentary Short: Shaba


Director: Maggie Gyllenhaal -The Lost Daughter
Director: Yimou Zhang – One Second (China)
International Narrative: My Father Marianne (Sweden)
US Narrative: C’mon C’mon
Documentary: Cat Daddies
Outstanding Performance: Olivia Colman – The Lost Daughter
Outstanding Performance: Richard Jenkins – The Humans
Outstanding Performance: Amy Schumer – The Humans
Best Editing Narrative Feature: Tankhouse
Best Editing Documentary Feature: Pure Grit (Ireland, International Premiere)
Best Editing Short Film: Birdie
Short Film: The Crossing
Short Film: I Want to Make a Film About Women
Short Film: The FBI’s Secret War
Short Film: Lilias Adie

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.