Aaron Taylor-Johnson award at Locarno Film Festival
Aaron Taylor-Johnson in Bullet Train (screenshot via Youtube)

British actor Aaron Taylor-Johnson, winner of the Golden Globe for Best Supporting Actor for Nocturnal Animals (Tom Ford, 2016), will receive the Excellence Award Davide Campari at Locarno Film Festival, and present the Festival’s opening film Bullet Train, by David Leitch.

Taylor-Johnson is known for roles as varied as John Lennon in Nowhere Boy (Sam Taylor-Johnson, 2009), Dave Lizewski/Kick-Ass in Kick-Ass (Matthew Vaughn, 2010), Count Vronsky in Anna Karenina (Joe Wright, 2012), Peter Maximoff/Quicksilver in Avengers: Age of Ultron (Joss Whedon, 2015), and of course not forgetting Godzilla (Gareth Edwards, 2014) and Tenet (Christopher Nolan, 2020).

“An Excellence Award for a young and extremely talented actor, able to speak to all audiences, to jump from one genre to another, driven by an extraordinary ability to always put himself on the line and take risks. The perfect Excellence Award Davide Campari for the 75th anniversary edition of the Locarno Film Festival, a Festival that looks to the future.” – Giona A. Nazzaro, Artistic Director

In past years the Excellence Award Davide Campari has been presented to Isabelle Huppert (2011), Edward Norton (2015), Ethan Hawke (2018), and, in 2021, Laetitia Casta.

Subscribe for Blog Updates

Sign up for our latest updates.